Background on the MRCP (UK) Examination

The 3 Royal Colleges of Physicians in the United Kingdom are located in London, Edinburgh and Glasgow. To gain membership to the MRCP (UK) Diploma, all applicants must pass an examination set by the Royal College.

The MRCP is recognised as an entry into specialist training and is usually undertaken during the period of General Professional Training (GPT). There components of the MRCP examination include:

MRCP Part 1 examination

The aim of the MRCP Part 1 examination is to identify those physicians in training who, having satisfied the entry criteria, possess a broad knowledge and understanding of common and important disorders as well as clinical science.

MRCP Part 2 examination

The MRCP(UK) Part 2 written examination can be taken by physicians in training who have passed the MRCP(UK) Part 1 Examination or who have exemption from the MRCP(UK) Part 1 examination. Success in this examination demonstrates the attainment of the minimum level of knowledge expected at the completion of General Professional Training, and the ability to apply this knowledge to clinical problem solving and clinical practice.


Examination Date
  Tue 13 May 2008 Tue 9 September 2008
Application Opening Date
Overseas Centres Fri 8 February 2008 Fri 30 May 2008
UK Centres Fri 22 February 2008 Fri 6 June 2008
Application Closing Date
Overseas Centres Fri 7 March 2008 Fri 27 June 2008
UK Centres Tue 25 March 2008 Fri 4 July 2008

www.123doc.com | www.mrcpch.net | www.mrcscourses.com | www.mrcs.org.uk | www.primaryfrca.co.uk
www.ukcattest.com | www.foundationyearsjournal.com | www.gp-st.co.uk | www.firstfrcr.com | www.mrcpsychpaper1.co.uk
www.mrcp.net | www.theplab.com | www.mrcpchpart2.com | www.123library.org | Grand Rounds